2018 Annual Meeting

Please join us in Seward, January 21st for the Annual Meeting!

Social hour, Annual Meeting, election of officers, Beekeeper of the Year, and 2017 Scholarship presentations


1:00 pm Snacks/hors d’oeuvres and socialize
2:00 pm Annual Meeting
2:15 pm 2017 Scholarship student presentations
4:30 pm 2018 Scholarship student introductions
5:00 pm Closing remarks

We will also have information on the 2018 Beginning and Advanced Beekeeping workshops taught by the UNL Bee Lab as well as upcoming meetings and build days. If you know someone who is interested in getting into beekeeping, feel free to invite them.  All of our meetings are open to the public!

March Member Meeting

Tour the Production Site – 5 p.m.

Staff will give a tour through the facility and explain the process of making mead.

Visit the Tasting Room – 6-8 p.m.

Visit the Tasting Room (6 blocks from the production site). Enjoy all the mead flavors, honey rootbeer, and delicious honey crust pizza.

Cash/Credit bar available with menu items ranging from $3-$23.March 2016 Spring Member Meeting

2013 Annual Meeting

Annual_Meeting_Image_webThere was a record turnout at our annual association meeting this year. We had nearly 100 people in attendance. Officers were elected and 2012 Youth Scholarship recipients presented their activities of the year and received awards. The 2013 Youth Scholarship recipients also were present and able to see the past years activities. Thanks to all that attended and participated.


Nebraska Beekeeper’s Association Annual Meeting 2013

January 13, 2013 2:00 p.m.

Valentino’s 70th and Van Dorn

Approximately 99 members and families were in attendance.
The meeting was called to order by President Warren Nelson
The nominating committee announced nominations for officer elections:

  • President – Warren Nelson
  • Vice President – Janet Alberts
  • Secretary – Todd Jensen
  • Program Editor – Todd Fiala
  • Treasurer – Jane Nelson
  • State Fair – Deb Swirmicky

Vote was called and all nominated individuals were approved and elected.

Nelson announced the 2012 Beekeeper of the year – Todd Fiala
Nelson also provided an Appreciation Plaque awarded to Walter Schwarz

The meeting proceeded into presentations of the 2012 Scholarship recipients. Technical difficulties were encountered but overcome. All recipients presented with exception of Austin Hurt who will present at a subsequent date. Presentations were delivered by the following:

Clifford Nicolen, Chase Jacobson, Austin Hurt, Emily Kuhl, Lane Schroer, Taylor Stephens, Hannah Cronk, Austen Haake, Jeff Thompson, Lucy Polk and Trevor Jensen.

At 5:00 p.m. awards were presented to the 2012 scholarship recipients.

Member meeting was adjourned at approximately 5:10 p.m.

Officers met briefly after member adjornment to vote on a motion presented by President Nelson to approve purchase of 2013 scholarship equipment through Valhalla Bee Farm Inc. instead of online to reduce costs. Estimate cost savings were not specified. Motion carried unanimously.


Todd Jensen, Secretary