2018 Introductory Beekeeping – Part 1 (Mead)

Registration fee for the workshop is $70 per person plus $35 for each additional family members. Registration includes lecture slides, equipment catalogs, refreshments, and lunch (does not include handbooks).

Taught by: Dr. Judy Wu-Smart, UNL Professor, Dept. of Entomology and Dustin Scholl, Apiary Manager, UNL Bee Lab

Pre-registration is required by February 16th, 2018

For additional information about the class, contact Dustin Scholl – dscholl3@unl.edu

Include: Name(s), address, phone number, e-mail and included class fee payment to:

Jeri Cunningham
University of Nebraska
Department of Entomology
103 Entomology Hall
Lincoln, NE 68583-0816
Email: jcunningham1@unl.edu
Phone: 402-472-8678

Youth Scholarship recipients and 1 adult are paid for through the Nebraska Beekeepers Association.

Directions to ARDC Education Center

The University of Nebraska–Lincoln Agricultural Research and Development Center (ARDC) and UNL Extension in Saunders County are headquartered in the August N. Christenson Research and Education Building near Mead, Nebraska.

FROM LINCOLN: Take Hwy. 77 north out of Lincoln towards Wahoo. The turnoff is located 20 miles north on Hwy. 77. (You will approach a green Univ. of Nebraska Agricultural R & D Center sign, a Hwy. 66/77 sign, and a Wahoo/Ashland/Ithaca sign right before the turn.) Turn east (right) onto Hwy. 66 and travel 6 3⁄4 miles east. The August N. Christenson Research and Education Building is located on Hwy. 66 on the south (right) side of the road.

The building is situated behind a hill and is difficult to see from the highway. Please park in the west parking lot. Time considerations: approximately 40 minutes from Cornhusker Hwy. and 56th Street.

Nebraska Beekeeper’s Association Annual Meeting 2013

January 13, 2013 2:00 p.m.

Valentino’s 70th and Van Dorn

Approximately 99 members and families were in attendance.
The meeting was called to order by President Warren Nelson
The nominating committee announced nominations for officer elections:

  • President – Warren Nelson
  • Vice President – Janet Alberts
  • Secretary – Todd Jensen
  • Program Editor – Todd Fiala
  • Treasurer – Jane Nelson
  • State Fair – Deb Swirmicky

Vote was called and all nominated individuals were approved and elected.

Nelson announced the 2012 Beekeeper of the year – Todd Fiala
Nelson also provided an Appreciation Plaque awarded to Walter Schwarz

The meeting proceeded into presentations of the 2012 Scholarship recipients. Technical difficulties were encountered but overcome. All recipients presented with exception of Austin Hurt who will present at a subsequent date. Presentations were delivered by the following:

Clifford Nicolen, Chase Jacobson, Austin Hurt, Emily Kuhl, Lane Schroer, Taylor Stephens, Hannah Cronk, Austen Haake, Jeff Thompson, Lucy Polk and Trevor Jensen.

At 5:00 p.m. awards were presented to the 2012 scholarship recipients.

Member meeting was adjourned at approximately 5:10 p.m.

Officers met briefly after member adjornment to vote on a motion presented by President Nelson to approve purchase of 2013 scholarship equipment through Valhalla Bee Farm Inc. instead of online to reduce costs. Estimate cost savings were not specified. Motion carried unanimously.


Todd Jensen, Secretary